mybookishthoughts

Book The Fourth: The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

Posted on: January 14, 2011

“On a world supported on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown), a gleeful, explosive, wickedly eccentric expedition sets out. There’s an avaricious but inept wizard, a naive tourist whose luggage moves on hundreds of dear little legs, dragons who only exit if you believe in them, and of course THE EDGE of the planet…”

Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels have always intrigued me. There seemed to be an endless number of them available to buy which obviously proved that they did infact sell and there was a market for them and yet I haven’t actually met many people that have read them. Maybe I am too young, maybe Terry Pratchett is the Fantasy novelist for an older generation, yet many people my age have read ‘The Lord of the Rings’ which is a difficult mission. I decided, that after many years of looking at this series from afar, I would read one, the first book in the series and obtained a copy from a swap on the internet.

I enjoyed reading this novel.   I liked how the book was split into several adventures which seemed to get progressively more exciting towards the latter half of the novel. I particularly liked the adventure which involved the ‘imaginary’ dragons. The ending of the book left me wanting more and encouraged me to add the second book in the series to my TBR list.

I wouldn’t say that ‘The Colour of Magic’ was my favourite fantasy novel. I think perhaps I had had a little too much of the bizarre having just read Douglas Adam. I think possibly it had to do with a lack of any intelligent characters, I just kept finding myself getting frustrated at the ineptitude of both protagonists. I think that the lack of chapters may have added to my dissatisfaction with the book. I hate stopping reading midway through a chapter and yet the book was only split into 4 sections which were too long for me to read all in one go without a break. Therefore I felt like reading the book was a bit of a chore at times.

Overall, I enjoyed the book and I can see why Pratchett’s novels would be popular with fantasy lovers. I intend to read more of his series, particularly some of the newer ones as I am told that his style has changed with time. I’m also looking forward to reading the witches series. I reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy like me, for example, if you love Douglas Adams you will probably have equal feelings of sentiment for Mr Pratchett. Don’t read this book if you’re expecting anything more then a fantasy story; its not a cross genre novel.

7/10

Leave a Reply

Archives


  • None
  • puckishwird: Hi there. Just read the fourth book in the series and reviewed it. Great stuff isn't it?
  • jesslaurelwilliams: Thankyou. Hopefully, It wont take away my love of reading too much. If I dont achieve my goal, at least I will have read some good books along the way
  • inspiritual: Well that's what I call a resolution! Don't forget to keep enjoying the process (of reading)! And good luck indeed!

Blog Stats

  • 344 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

